My Top 5 Favorite Looks From Palm Angels FW20

This Sunday evening I had the grand opportunity to attend the Palm Angels New York Fashion Week show. I was very pleased with the new and different approach by Palm Angels Creative Director, Francesco Ragazzi. This collection has been described by Emily Mercer of WWD “reveal American culture through reworking stereotypes, including mash-ups of tailoring and streetwear with loads of fringe.” After seeing the entire collection and being able to experience this live show completely revolved around telling a story through clothing, I believe he hit this theme spot on.

Jake Silbert, with Hypebeast, reviewed this line with much praise, pointing out that the “graphic T-shirts, checkerboard patterns, paint splatters and skate sneakers demonstrate Palm Angels’ adeptness at blending the West of yore with the Californian cool of today.” Being at the show allowed me to see these pieces in action. Out of the 50-look collection, here is a list of my top five favorite runway looks:

#5: Color Blocking

Look number five (orange/purple/red/pink sweater) made my top five because not only did I enjoy the color choices and color blocking of the sweater, I really enjoyed the styling of this look which was done by Karl Templer. This look was so fun and pulled together a dramatic yet subtle street style vibe. 

#4: Knits

I really enjoyed the intricacy of this ribbed sweater shown in look number eight. With the base being an ombre of earthy/neutral tones and details being on-theme, it looked very high fashion and could also be seen on the streets for a casual look.

#3: Skater Cowboy

This immediately caught my eye during the show. I love look number thirty one mainly because of the bright teal base color and the colorful embroidery of western symbols. This is a piece that is very versatile. Again, I really enjoyed the small styling details/decisions made by Mukamal–the pink satin shirt peeking out below the contrasting teal, matching with the pink tone of the sneakers was aesthetically pleasing to me. The multi-finger ring that resembles the gold and pearl necklace was also a great touch.  

#2: Structured and Chic

Being the last to walk the runway of the show, look number fifty had me stunned. The monochromatic coloring is very different from the other pieces that drew me in. The magnetic component of this look completely lined in the subtle detail and structural components. As this model walked down the runway, she looked strong and encapsulated the personality behind this design. The structured shoulder combined with the tassel fringe married chic and western symbols seamlessly. The embellishments on the collared shirt and oversized belt buckle introduced further implementation of the Americana/Western flair. 

#1: Patterns and Layering

The subtlety of the logo and raw hem of the black shawl and effortless pattern layering that introduced color and theme was hard to keep my eyes off of, and why look number forty seven holds the number one spot in my top five looks of the show.. The teal, red and silver gem design on the blouse and handbag tied the color story of this look together. It allowed for the addition of the brown boot and orange hued ski goggles which were styled around the model’s neck. 

Final Thoughts

I was very happy with the fall/winter collection and am so grateful to have been there in person to witness the reveal and share what I thought with all of you. Congratulations to Francesco and the Palm Angels team. I look forward to seeing more from them. I hope you enjoyed these looks as much as I did. Feel free to like and share! Leave a comment and let me know which looks from the FW20 collection were your top five! 

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Favorite Looks From Palm Angels FW20

Leave a comment